Notes provide an easy way to communicate with the team or with a translation consultant. They appear as icons in the text, but neither the note nor the icon will be published with the Bible text. Topics covered here are how to create notes, how to view project notes, and how to edit notes.
Creating a note
- To insert a note, highlight the word(s) that the note is about. Then go to File > Note… or right-click the highlighted word(s) and select Insert Note… A dialog appears that shows the text that the note is about in bold with the surrounding context. Below this you can type your note.
- You may also assign the note to a specific person or to the team in the drop-down menu at the bottom. The person you assigned the note to will see the note icon highlighted in the text. However, everyone in the project will also be able to view and comment on the note, not just the person you assigned it to.
- When you are finished, click OK. A tag icon will appear before the word(s) that the note is about. When you hover your cursor over the note, a summary of the note will appear.
Viewing project notes
- To open the notes for the project, go to File > Open Notes… Select your project and click OK. A new window will then appear that shows the notes for the project you selected.
- The default is to show unresolved notes for the chapter you currently have open. You can change this by adjusting the filters in the drop-down menus at the top. You can also use the search feature to find a particular note.
- To view or edit a note, either click Open in the Notes window or click the note icon in the text. The dialog with the note will appear.
- You can insert a comment by typing in the textbox at the bottom. (You cannot edit someone else’s notes, but you can edit your own. However, you may add a comment to any note.)
- You can also mark a note as resolved by clicking Resolve. This will remove the icon from the text but does not delete the note from the project. You can view resolved notes in the Notes window by selecting the filter Resolved from the drop-down menu.
- To edit a comment you made, select the icon with a pencil to the right of the comment.
- You can also delete a comment you made by clicking the small red x to the right of the comment.
- When you are finished, click OK.